This is the mandatory course for the New York State Concealed Carry Firearm Safety Training as required under New York State Law for a NYS Concealed Carry Pistol License.
It is a minimum of 18 hours which includes 16 hour classroom and 2 hour range session.
In order to pass, attendees are required to pass a written examination scoring a minimum of 80% as well as shoot a live fire minimum proficiency qualification at the range.
This course meets the minimum standards as outlined by the DCJS.
The following topics are covered:
- Firearms safety and safe handling practices
- Firearm and ammunition function and operation
- Cleaning and maintenance
- Range safety
- Holster and accessory considerations
- Concealed carry considerations
- Safe storage and transportation requirements
- State and federal gun laws
- Situational awareness and concealed carry
- Conflict de-escalation and management
- Effects of drugs and alcohol
- Proper interaction with law enforcement
- Restricted areas
- Use of deadly force and duty to retreat / NY Article 35
- Suicide prevention / recognizing the signs
- Principles of marksmanship
- Fundamentals of shooting
- Dry fire and live fire exercises (firearm, ammunition, eye and ear protection will be provided)
- Written test